American Council for Accredited Certification

The Certification Council

Consultation services in the field of

Professional development in certification

An Introduction to The Certification Council

Founded in 1992, The Certification Council is North America‚Äôs oldest and most prestigious certifying body dedicated to indoor air quality.  The Certification Council offers consultation services in the field of professional development in certification.

ACAC (formerly known as the American Indoor Air Quality Council) is a dba of The Certification Council, and provides certifications in infection control, microbial, indoor environmental and other IAQ-related fields.

ACAC is the ONLY certifying body in the IAQ field to achieve independent third-party accreditation from the Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB).

Additionally, ACAC was the FIRST indoor air quality certifying body to:

The ACAC Certification Process

Certification boards develop each certification exam from standard industry reference texts, never from training course curricula.  ACAC exams are developed and maintained according to accreditation guidelines published by the National Commission of Certifying Agencies (NCCA) and delivered at third-party proctoring centers around the world.  ACAC certification boards set passing scores for each exam using psychometrically verified statistical analysis.  In an average year, only about 70% of eligible candidates pass their ACAC certification exam.

Candidates who pass their exams must await board review of their application files.  ACAC certification boards are composed of no less than five (5) members, each of whom holds the certification in question.  Board members may not be affiliated with those who provide prep courses for ACAC exams.  Boards meet and discuss each application file and certify by unanimous vote only. 

ACAC certifications are current for two years, after which time recertification is required.  Certificants must document and attest to 40 hours of professional development activities during each two-year certification cycle.  In 2013, more than 90% of expiring ACAC certificants recertified in order to maintain their professional designations.

Certifications for Everyone

ACAC offers professional certifications to all qualified candidates.  Our certification boards grant non-accredited, vocational certifications to newly trained individuals who pass the certification exam and attest to current employment in their fields.

Candidates for accredited ACAC certifications must demonstrate verifiable field experience on a written application before taking the certification exam.  ACAC staff members verify field experience documentation for every candidate.

Examples of ACAC's Reputation

Click here to read about the organizations and agencies that require, recommend, or recognize ACAC certifications.

ACAC Certification means Integrity, Credibility and Independence

"Thank you. I really appreciate your patience and willingness to help me through the process. I am very grateful that the Council is so diligent. The stakes are high and anything less would not be helping any of us, or the public we try to help." -- Signed RM
Did you know that ACAC requires 40 hours of verified professional development for every two-year recertification?
ACA accepts VISA and MasterCard ACAC accepts American Express

25 ACAC certification programs are accredited by the Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB). 
All ACAC examinations are compliant with standards published by APA, AERA and NCME.