American Council for Accredited Certification

Get Certified

Apply for Certification

Qualify for State Licenses

Moisture Control Investigation and Consulting



Council-certified Moisture Control Consultant

Download Handbook
Online Application Form
Download Exam Study Guide

Required: 8 years experience consulting on moisture control issues in the built environment



Council-certified Moisture Control Investigator

Download Handbook
Online Application Form
Download Exam Study Guide

Required: 2 years experience investigating moisture issues in the built environment




Council-certified Residential Moisture Assessor  (VOCATIONAL)

Required: current employment in moisture assessment

Download Handbook
Online Application Form
Download Exam Study Guide

Certification performed by ACAC: Testing, analysis, and evaluation of the individual's knowledge, skills and abilities for the purpose of certification and re-certification in the field of moisture assessments in residential indoor environments.


Program Summary:

The Council-certified Moisture Control Investigator (CMCI) and the Council-certified Moisture Control Consultant (CMCC) conduct moisture investigations and assessments in all types of buildings.  They apply knowledge of building sciences, moisture behavior and structural drying to locate the source, identify the cause, or specify the mitigation of moisture problems involving the design, construction and/or maintenance of the built environment. 

A CMCI or CMCC possesses verified knowledge of the moisture control field. The CMCC and CMCI certification exams cover the most respected reference texts in the industry. Candidates must know the important industry standards. They must be familiar with scientific principles governing moisture control in the design, construction and maintenance phases of a building's life. They must understand the most common practices and protocols used by investigators and contractors, as they are often involved in specifying remediation, mitigation and repair work.

A CMCI or CMCC possesses verified experience in moisture control investigation and consulting in settings like these:

To earn the Council-certified Moisture Control Investigator (CMCI) or Council-certified Moisture Control Consultant (CMCC) designations, candidates must:



Restoration and Remediation:

ACAC offers restoration industry certifications and contractor certifications such as mold contractor certifications, indoor air quality certifications, water damage certifications, fire and water restoration certifications; structural drying certifications, moisture control certifications, and thermography certifications.

Administration and Management:

ACAC offers emergency management certifications and indoor air quality management certifications.

Investigation and Consulting:

ACAC offers mold inspector certifications, indoor air quality certifications, environmental certifications, infection control certifications, thermography certifications, and fire and smoke certifications.


"You guys are so great to work with" -- Signed DJ
Did you know that the state of Maryland requires ACAC certification as a prerequisite for its mold license?
ACA accepts VISA and MasterCard ACAC accepts American Express

*  The CIEC and CMC programs are dual-accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA)
    and the Council for Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB).
* 18 other ACAC programs are accredited by the Council of Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB).
*  ACAC examinations are compliant with standards published by APA, AERA and NCME.
*  ACAC is a member of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE), formerly known as NOCA.